In the world of User Experience research, the importance of data privacy cannot be overstated. This is especially true when dealing with personal data such as audio and video recordings. UX researchers often gather this type of data to gain deeper insights into user behavior and enhance the overall experience.
These audio and video recordings are forms of personal data and are protected under privacy laws such as the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). These laws mandate that such data should be handled with utmost care to protect the privacy and rights of individuals. Violations can result in severe penalties, reputational damage, and a loss of user trust. Therefore, it's crucial to have an efficient way to manage and protect this data.
Sanitize your recordings
To aid in this critical aspect of data privacy, NEXT offers data sanitization. However, please note that this feature is only available for our Enterprise Plan users.
Data sanitization allows you to permanently delete all uploaded video and audio files from our system. Instead of the original files, a placeholder will be used to mark the position where the original file was located.
This process of sanitization also extends to any derived highlights from the recordings. When a recording is sanitized, all video clips in the highlights that are derived from the recording will also be replaced with a placeholder.
As stories link highlights, those will equally be sanitized.
How to sanitize recordings
Using the Sanitize Data feature is straightforward and involves three easy steps:
Open the Recordings Library
Select the recordings you wish to sanitize. You can select one or more recordings based on your requirement.
Click the [...] button in selection panel, and the "Sanitize"
Once the sanitization process starts, our system will remove the original audio and video files and replace them with a placeholder. This process might take a couple of minutes.
⚠️ Warning: Irreversible sanitization
It is essential to understand that the sanitization process is irreversible. Once you sanitize a recording, it cannot be undone. This irreversible nature of the feature extends even to our support team who won't be able to recover any sanitized files. The reason for this is to ensure that all copies of the files are permanently eliminated to maintain data privacy.